Thursday, May 17, 2007

College Football Awards

Former Heisman Trophy winners and service academy stars Pete Dawkins and Roger Staubach are the latest recipients of the National Football Foundation's Gold Medal.

The NFF announced Wednesday its Gold Medal and other award winners to be honored at a banquet in New York in December, when the new College Football Hall Fame class will be inducted. Last week, Doug Flutie was among the 12 players elected to the Hall.

Other NFF award winners include former Notre Dame running back Rocky Bleier, who will receive the Distinguished American Award, and Florida athletic director Jeremy Foley, who won the John L. Toner Award given to outstanding ADs.

The NFF has honored a wide range of prominent Americans, including presidents, Hall of Fame baseball player Jackie Robinson and actor John Wayne, with the Gold Medal since 1958.

Last year, the NFF awarded Gold Medals to Florida State coach Bobby Bowden and Penn State coach Joe Paterno, the winningest coaches in the history of major college football.


Wednesday, May 02, 2007

College Football Hall of Fame

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today that ESPNEWS will televise live the announcement of the 2007 inductees into the College Football Hall of Fame from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A).

"College football is truly one of America's great passions, and interest in our sport continues to grow," said NFF Chairman Ron Johnson, a 1992 inductee from the University of Michigan. "We applaud ESPNEWS for recognizing the interest among fans in the history of the game and the value of preserving the legacy of the legends who set the standard for greatness."

Labels: ,